Skip To Main Content

Board of Trustees

Ground Breaking Ceremony

Battle Ground Academy benefits from our Board of Trustees’ thoughtful, supportive guidance and unwavering dedication to the school, its mission, and its long-term success.

Board Members 2021-2022


Mark L. Puryear III '85, Chair
Matthew (Matt) C. Ligon ‘87, Vice Chair
Ward H. Brown, Treasurer
Anna-Gene Chalfant O'Neal '84, Secretary


Robert (Rob) G. Adams ‘87
L. H. (Bill) Armistead III '69
Joseph H. (Hamilton) Bowman V ‘93
Dr. John Preston Brown VII '87
Cedric T. Coco
D. Mike Hammontree
John A. B. Harlin '75
Greg M. Herman '84
Colleen G. Hoke ‘87
James W. Jewell Jr. '86
Christina (Tina) C. Jones
Larry W. Kain ‘66
Mike H. Keith '86
Sondra Morris
Anna-Gene Chalfant O'Neal '84
Shawne C. Sills
Camille S. Small '91
Dr. Leonard G. Webster

Ex-Officio Members

William (Will) F. Kesler, Head of School
Andrew Phelps, Acting Chief Financial Officer
Thomas (Tom) G. Evans Jr., Director of Advancement
Robin Goertz, Director of Enrollment Management
Sterling Smith '84, Alumni Board President
Kathleen (Katie) W. Baisden, Parent Association President

Life Trustees

Tom F. Cone
John B. Jewell III '62
Reese L. Smith III '66
Robert H. Steltjes